zoominfo

Q: Is Jira data backed up?

A:

Jira maintains disaster recovery backups of their entire platform – and every account on it. These backups are updated regularly. The purpose of a disaster recovery backup is to recover the entire Jira platform in case anything happens to their main data centers – such as a natural disaster causing a flood or a malicious attack by hackers. These types of disasters are extremely rare but platforms like Jira make sure they are prepared for them.

As a Jira user, it’s important to understand that Jira’s disaster recovery backup cannot be used to restore data in your individual account.

Because user data stored in Jira is on a shared infrastructure, it is not possible for us to recover a subset of that information from backups.

Rememberthat backup contains the data of all 180,000 users on the Jira platform. It’s not set up in a way that allows Jira employees to pick and choose data to restore. 

That means that you run the risk of losing important data from your Jira account if:

  • You or someone else with access to your Jira Project accidentally deletes an entire board, epic, or issue
  • Someone with access to your Jira project maliciously deletes important data
  • A 3rd-party app you’ve added to your Jira project(s) makes unwanted changes or corrupts your data
  • You import data into Jira via a CSV that contains an error

What you need to backup and restore data from your individual Jira account is an account-level backup. That’s where Rewind comes in.

Rewind automatically backups your Jira projects, boards, epics, and issues, giving you the ability to undo mistakes and recover deleted data quickly. Backups are a great way to secure your Jira account. It’s like having an insurance policy on the workflows your business relies on.

If you’re reading this and thinking “Wait a second… I thought that Jira was able to back up and recover all my data,” you might have the wrong impression about what Jira backs up.